Making my music shareable!

Undivided Heart

“Teach me your way, O LORD, and I will walk in  your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.  I will praise you, O Lord my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your name forever.  For great is your love toward me; you have delivered me from the depths of the grave.” – Psalm 86:11-13, NIV

I like this passage.  However, I didn’t exactly go hunting for it; it simply happened to be one of the Psalms I read the day I was on a “try to write lyrics by focusing on syllables-per-line count” kick.  That was probably a couple months ago by now–I didn’t date it–but when I finished “Seeking God’s Peace” and therefore needed a set of lyrics so I could write a choral piece, I found it in my little notebook and decided the poem I’d written based on David’s prayer in Psalm 86 had potential.

Funny, isn’t it, how God arranges things to coincide?  Leaving aside the length of time it’s taken me to finish this piece, what with other chores and such butting in and stealing my time to work on it, when I chose the lyrics, it was simply because they seemed like they flowed well and I thought I could write an effective choral work with them.  There was no “I’m going through such-and-such a time and so I’ll really be able express what I’m feeling” reasoning behind it.  The last few weeks, however, I have spent a lot of time in two minds–regarding a decision that isn’t exactly “spiritually” related, but in two minds, nonetheless–and the fact I was working on a song titled “Undivided Heart” seemed awfully ironic.  And even as I would point out to myself that it was not a decision between the world and God, I would realize that in a way, it was–because whether or not I knew which one was which, ultimately, one choice was what I wanted, and the other choice was the one God wanted.  I’m not saying that EVERY choice we make in life is a God-or-me choice–I’m pretty sure it isn’t going to wreck or even cause complications for God’s plan if I wear the green shirt today instead of the blue one, for example.  However, this one is a little bigger than what clothes to wear and will definitely affect the specifics, at least, about how God will be able to use my husband and myself–even if I don’t think about it that way most of the time.  So although from a slightly different angle than David’s original Psalm, this song became my own prayer as I worked the last couple weeks to craft music that would adequately express the words.

Personally, I like the result (although there were quite a few moments yesterday afternoon while making the mock-up when I definitely did not!).  I hope you do, too.

Check out the WAVE file here: Undivided Heart

And for those who like to see the music, the score is here: Undivided Heart

Lyrics:

Cares of the world,
Cares of the spirit;
My heart is torn in two.
Both sets of cares
Call for my attention;
Which one do I choose?

Give me an undivided heart
That I might praise You, Lord;
A heart solely focused on You.
I’ll remember Your love,
Your unending grace;
Make my heart undivided towards You.

It’s so easy to focus
On what my eyes see
And forget there’s so much more above.
Lord, help me remember
What I see is not important
When compared to Your marvelous love!

Give me an undivided heart
That I might praise You, Lord.
A heart solely focused on You.
I’ll remember Your love,
Your unending grace.
Make my heart undivided towards You.

An undivided heart can praise You.

One response

  1. Ruth Poovey

    Beautiful, soothing music. So peaceful. And the lyrics are just what I needed to hear.

    August 4, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

