Making my music shareable!

Psalm 40

My Sunday school class finished a study of the Psalms the week before last.  A couple of months ago, we looked at Psalm 40, a beautiful Psalm about trusting God and His renewal and rescue from trouble.  Around the same time, I was feeling bummed out, and the first several verses of this Psalm were very comforting.  And what do you know, I happened to be at a point between compositions…so I decided to create a choral piece.

I actually started with a verse later in the Psalm to open it up–I think it makes the waiting on the Lord section that much more meaningful to hear first that yes, the psalmist is/was in some kind of trouble–he isn’t going on about God’s goodness during the happiest time in his life.  God is faithful even during the storms of life.

PDF score: Psalm 40

Listen here

Lyrics:

Be pleased, oh Lord, to save me;
Oh, Lord, come quickly to help me.
Be pleased, oh Lord, to save me;
Oh, Lord, come quickly to help me.

I waited on the Lord;
He turned to me.
I waited patiently on the Lord;
He turned and heard my cry!

He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
Out of the mud and mire.
He set my feet upon a rock,
And gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my mouth,
A hymn of praise to God.
Many will see and fear (many will see and fear),
Many will see and fear (many will see and fear),
Many will see and trust in the Lord.

May all who seek You rejoice, Lord.
May all who seek You rejoice and be glad in You.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

